First Dance

“Cause everyone knows they’re in love
Everyone knows they’re in love
Yes and everyone knows they’re in love
By the way they dance”

– “By the Way They Dance” Jump Little Children

The first dance is a great tradition at weddings. My fiancé (now husband) had a pretty tough time deciding on the song that would mark our entrance into married life. His idea of a first dance selection was AC/DC “Shook Me All Night Long”…. Obviously that idea was vetoed. As a girl I have had the perfect song picked out and ready to go since I was a freshman in high school. I have been prepared for this song so much that I have not told anyone about this song, have not played it for anyone I have been in a relationship and I have always skipped it when listening to it on my iPod with friends so that the song would not become tainted. SO when the time came to pick a wedding song I was ready and as I played the song for my fiancé I was so sure that he would love it too and we would be ready to dance. After the song was over I said, “What do you think?”

“It was kind of boring and slow”

Oh NO! Well needless to say I didn’t get to use that song and we had to go through the whole process of selecting a song. We landed on the number one cheesy cliche wedding song… “At Last”. Don’t get me wrong it’s a beautiful song and Etta James can do no wrong, but EVERYONE uses that song and I was a little hesitant to be another one on the list. But if it means compromise and something we can agree on I wasn’t going to push it.

Last notes on a first dance. I have been to numerous weddings where the couple have thought it to be a good idea to show a slideshow. Pictures of her with her blonde pigtails in the summer of 93 eating watermelon and pictures of him naked in the backyard peeing in the kiddie pool in the summer of 2012.

As much as I love a good video montage I also like to keep the party moving and as much as the first dance is a tradition, after the first minute of the song the audience is bored. So my brilliant plan was to put the two together. We showed a slideshow of him during the mommy son dance and a slideshow of me during the father daughter dance and of course pictures of us a couple during our Etta James first dance all timed out to the songs they corresponded with. Nobody was bored during the dances and we didn’t waste any extra time.

Love,

E #

Leave a comment